Pointer Rescue -- helping to make a difference

Iris Needs a New Home

Iris - 2 years old, fostered in New York
Dog ID#: 180204-P-B-GA
Intake date: 2/25/18
Available for adoption: 3/11/18

Hello, I am Iris! Are you looking for the perfect dog? Well, look no further! I am a super sweet and fun 2-year-old B&W pointer. I was found as a stray in Georgia. Now I am living in Upstate NY and quickly learning all the ins and outs about living inside a home. I have been with my foster home for two weeks now. I am young enough to be a typical active pup, but old enough to be fully housebroken, crate trained, and well behaved. My foster folks say that I am the perfect dog because I strike the right balance between being confident and playful, without being overly independent or bossy. Most importantly, my foster folks say that Iím really easy to live with because I love everyone Ė people, kids, dogs and even cats.

Iím a very happy girl, with a constantly wagging tail, who loves adventures, tennis balls, and a good romp with my canine friends followed by lots of snoozing and snuggles with my people. I ride beautifully in the car and walk nicely on leash without pulling. I am medium energy and regular moderate exercise brings out the best in me. If you are active and enjoy the outdoors, I would be happy to join you on your next adventure! I would love to meet someone who will take me walking, jogging, or hiking, and maybe even swimming! I am currently living with two other big, active retrievers that I adore frolicking around with so it would be great if my new home has some other dogs or human kids for me to pal around with.

After living as a stray, I love my new life as a housedog and I am very grateful to have a warm, comfortable bed or couch to call my own. I will tolerate being crated when you arenít home or canít supervise me, but I would much prefer to share your couch or your bed, if you will let me! I weigh 50 pounds, which is just the right size for snuggling. I definitely love cuddles and belly rubs and will gently tap you with my paw when I want you to keep petting me!

I havenít learned much obedience yet, but I am pretty well behaved without it. I donít go through the trash, counter surf, bark, or chew things that I should not. I am curious about squirrels, chipmunks and birds, so a fenced yard would be best for keeping me safe. However, I could adjust to apartment life or an unfenced yard with sufficient exercise on leash in addition to proper recall training or invisible fence training.

I am fully vaccinated, dewormed and heartworm negative. I have been spayed, microchipped and been put on monthly flea/tick and heartworm preventative. I am well behaved for nail trimming, ear cleaning, bathing, and brushing. My foster folks look forward to telling you more about me!

TRANSPORT AVAILABLE TO APPROVED HOMES! (generally within 1,500 miles)

Uploaded by craig