Pointer Rescue -- helping to make a difference


Sasha Needs a New Start



*ADOPT ME!*
Sasha – 8 months old, fostered in New York
Dog ID#: 181574-P-B-VA
Intake date: 8/26/18
Available date: 9/9/18

Hello, I am Sasha! I heard that you have an open position for a new dog and I would like to submit my application. My qualifications include being a stunningly beautiful, motivated student, devoted companion, and top-notch snuggler.

I am a super sweet, fun and calm 1-year-old black & white pointer. Somehow, I ended up in a shelter in Virginia. I’m not really sure what I did wrong other than being a young Pointer! Thankfully, the great folks at Pointer Rescue Organization decided to take me in. I am currently being fostered in New York until I find my forever home. I have been with my foster home for three weeks now. I’m about 9-12 months old, which is the perfect age – young enough to be a typical active, playful and curious young pointer, but old enough to be housebroken and generally well-behaved. My foster folks say that I am the perfect dog because I strike the right balance between being confident and playful, without being overly energetic.

I am easy to live with because I love people, dogs and even cats. I’ve never met a stranger and will gladly greet them with a big smile and a happy tail wag! I am currently living with two other big, active retrievers, a senior pointer, and a young 9-month-old pointer puppy. I enjoy a good romp around with my canine friends followed by lots of snoozing and snuggles with my people. I am just the right size for snuggling. I definitely love to receive belly rubs and ear scratches. I sleep quietly through the night. I ride beautifully in the car and would love to be your companion on any outdoor adventure. I would make an awesome walking or hiking buddy. I walk extremely well on leash.

I am housebroken, but I don’t yet signal when I need to go out. Letting me out a little more often will ensure my success until I learn your routine. I do not chew things that I should not and I rarely bark. I sit nicely for treats and food and have excellent recall in my fenced yard, but would benefit from a basic obedience class to reinforce these commands and further add to my training.

While I am not very interest in birds, I am curious about other critters so a fenced yard would be best for keeping me safe. However, my foster folks say I have a short “invisible leash” and think I could adjust to an invisible fence with proper training.

I currently weight about 45 pounds and have a clean bill of health. I am fully vaccinated, dewormed and heartworm negative. I have been spayed, microchipped and put on monthly flea/tick and heartworm preventative. I am well behaved for nail trimming, ear cleaning, bathing, and brushing.

I sound practically perfect right? Well, I am except for one issue that I need to share with you… As sweet as I am almost all of the time, I am a bit of a Jekyline and Hydie when left alone, due to separation anxiety. In my eagerness to be with my people, I can easily jump an extra tall baby gate, open doors with L shaped handles, and unintentionally cause damage to property, so it is best to keep me crated for my safety during those times when I must be left alone.

My foster family is tremendously proud of me for the steady progress I have made thus far, and have complete confidence in my ability to make a full recovery, but I still have a little ways to go. For this reason, I am looking for a special forever home with someone who is retired, works from home, or who can take me to work – at least initially. Any prospective adopters must be committed to having the time, patience and willingness to work through this over the coming weeks or months.

Please know that there are a number of volunteers and adopters within PRO who have a wealth of experience working with cases like Sasha. We will be with you every step of the way to answer questions, troubleshoot problems, and offer advice.

Want to learn more about one of the dogs we have up for adoption? Fill out our adoption application!!

TRANSPORT AVAILABLE TO APPROVED HOMES! (generally within 1,500 miles)


Uploaded by craig