Pointer Rescue -- helping to make a difference


Aries Needs a New Home



*ADOPT ME!*
Aries - 2 years old, fostered in Virginia
Dog ID#: 190214-P-D-VA
Intake date: planned for 2/10/19
Available for adoption: around 2/25/19

Hi, I am Aries! I am from Virginia and was probably a bird dog who did some hunting and then got lost and found my way to PRO. Now I am a somewhere between a year and two years old, living in my foster home in Northern Virginia, and loving every minute of it!

I am currently living with and getting along great with a bossy 3-year-old female dog and a guinea pig. I have a lot of fun playing with my foster sister. We love to wrestle, play tag and tug of war. Iím very well behaved and never get upset when she bosses me around. I am eager to please and super friendly with people, including kids, dogs and maybe cats. My foster folks think that I would make a wonderful family dog. I would make fast friends with kids, but you might have to watch me around young ones because I still like to jump up.I would do well with folks who have time to play outside because I love to walk, run, and I think I would reallylike a dog park.

Whomever I end up with, I hope they will like to play fetch with me. I bring the ball right back to hand. Iím working on basic obedience commands, like Ďsití and Ďcomeí. I love riding in the car and willingly jump right in.I am 100% housebroken. I even use the doggie doorbells to let my foster folks know when I need to go out. I am still young and need appropriate treats and toys to exercise my jaws. I have had a few issues chewing, so I need to go in my crate if Iím not being watched. I love all kinds of toys and will happily entertain myself with them, but did I mention that I really like to retrieve balls? When Iím not playing with toys, Iím very cuddly and affectionate. I love to lie in the sun in the afternoons and snuggle up on the sofa in the evening for TV time.

Iíve been with my foster family for four weeks, so they would like you to know that Iím still working on a fewthings, like leash walking. I donít pull nearly as badly as some, and I am getting better with practice. I am not used to being crated. I am definitely not a fan and will be sure to voice my displeasure. I donít mind sleeping in my crate at night, but during the day, I want to be where the action is. Finally, I want to be around my people above all else. My hope would be to find someone who is around a good bit, perhaps retired, working from home, or able to take me to work with them. If thatís not possible, I would also probably really like doggy day care. At home, a fenced in yard would be needed, (you know how hard it is for us dogs to resist thetemptation of a squirrel or bird). I am very treat motivated and a quick learner, so I could be trained to an invisible fence

I am fully-grown and weigh 56 pounds. The vet says I should put on a few more pounds and Iím really enjoying trying to do that. I was recently microchipped and neutered. I am current on all required vaccinationsand put on a monthly flea/tick and heartworm preventatives. I have also been dewormed. I am well behaved for nail trimming, ear cleaning, bathing and brushing. The vet said Iím a perfect gentleman.

TRANSPORT AVAILABLE TO APPROVED HOMES! (generally within 1,500 miles)


Uploaded by craig